MECC Regional Council of Governments to Hold Meeting on Sept. 19

GAHANNA, Ohio – The Metropolitan Emergency Communications Consortium (MECC) Regional Council of Governments (RCOG) will meet Thursday, Sept. 19 at 1 p.m. at the Mifflin Township Meeting Hall, 155 Olde Ridenour Rd in Gahanna.

The RCOG is a form of government available under Ohio Revised Code. Founding members of the MECC RCOG represent Mifflin, Truro, Violet, Jefferson and Plain Townships. In 2015, the boards of trustees of the consortium voted to formalize their governance structure and to transition into a council of governments. This change opened the door for shared projects and services. Participating agencies anticipate that the RCOG will generate a cost savings for those entities involved. Members will be able to save on everything from supplies and training, to uniform and health care costs through their collective buying power.

Delegates appointed to the RCOG governing board include Trustee Lynn Stewart, Mifflin Township; Trustee Pat Mahaffey, Truro Township; Trustee Rich Courter, Jefferson Township; and Trustee David Olmstead, Plain Township.