Dunlevy Sworn In as Mifflin Township Division of Fire Batallion Chief

Westerville resident Brian Dunlevy, previously assigned as the one-unit officer on Rescue 134, was sworn in today as Mifflin Township Division of Fire Battalion Chief. Mifflin Township Board of Trustees members passed a resolution at the Oct. 6 meeting to promote Dunlevy, and swore him in today amid colleagues and family members.

A graduate of Hocking College, with an associate’s degree in fire and EMS emergencies, Dunlevy has been with the Mifflin Township Division of Fire since 2001. He was promoted to lieutenant in 2009, and to captain earlier this year. He has been recognized several times by the department for bravery during a rescue incident, and was named officer of the year in 2001 and paramedic of the year in 2003. The battalion chief role includes serving as day-to-day supervisor, and being responsible for training and quality improvement.

“Brian is a highly-respected company officer,” Fire Chief Timothy Taylor said. “He is always striving to learn more, is an excellent communicator, has excellent technical skills, but, most importantly, is a role model who is respected by others. I have no doubt he will excel in this role, and will serve Mifflin Township residents well.”

Battalion chief candidates participated in an extensive evaluation process, which included an array of tests and assessments measuring their fitness for the position, in terms of character, technical skills and knowledge, supervisory skills, and experience.

“It has been an honor to serve Mifflin Township and the citizens of Gahanna,” said Dunlevy. “I look forward to my new role as battalion chief and will strive to continue moving our organization in a positive direction. I would like to personally thank all the staff, the board of trustees and this great community for their continued support.”

About the Mifflin Township Division of Fire
Mifflin Township has a population of 35,710 making it the second-most populated township in the Columbus area and 17th-largest of Ohio’s 1,308 townships. It includes the city of Gahanna and unincorporated township area in northeast Franklin County. 

Mifflin Township has a fire department that serves the city of Gahanna and unincorporated township areas. The division has four fire stations, and employs 74 full time firefighter/paramedics, six full or part-time fire prevention officers and 23 full or part-time dispatchers. Responding to more than 6,239 calls for emergency medical service and 1,624 fire protection calls, the township responded to a total of 7,863 calls for assistance in 2013. With a response time of less than four minutes, the Mifflin Township Division of Fire is one of the busiest fire departments in Franklin County (Central Ohio).

Three elected trustees, including Trustees Richard Angelou, Lynn Stewart and Joseph Spanovich, comprise the Mifflin Township Board of Trustees, which decides issues of policy and is responsible for all expenditures of township funds.