Unofficial Vote Count: Mifflin Township Residents Vote to Support Police Levy


Voters who live in the unincorporated portion of Mifflin Township voted to approve a replacement of the current 2-mill levy that expires at the end of this year (2021) by a margin of 53.49 percent to 46.51 percent, according to the Franklin County Board of Elections Unofficial Vote Count for the May 4, 2021 Primary Election. Final results will be announced after May 14, the mandatory 10-day period in which absentee votes may still arrive at the board of elections if postmarked by May 4. Unofficial vote counts are not final and certified.

Police Chief Tammy Phillips said that “this levy will allow us to maintain our local police force and our 24/7 coverage in the neighborhood, maintaining our quick response times and helping us to meet current standards with respect to both training and equipment. Assuming the current vote margin remains the same, we cannot thank our residents enough for placing their continued trust in us to serve them.”

The permanent levy of 2 mills supports the operation of the Mifflin Township Police Department and will pick up where the current levy ends. Passage of a permanent levy eliminates the need to vote on a replacement every five years, first voted on in 1996. Additionally, the replacement will factor in any value changes in property and then lock that value in for the life of the levy. The current levy generates about $47,539 annually.

The levy will support operating costs to provide round-the-clock police protection in Mifflin Township. Typical operating costs include maintaining and updating equipment such as vehicles, computers, body camera software, and other critical equipment, and continue the current level of staffing. Additionally, the township has seen an increase in crime over the past few years, specifically issues related to the opiate epidemic, such as robbery, drugs and other felony offenses. This levy helps the division continue to tackle these issues, as well as have the budget to keep officers on the streets.

“Thank you to the voters of Mifflin Township for their generous support and trust in the police division and for investing in the safety and stability of their community,” said Mifflin Township Trustee Kevin Cavener. “These funds will enable us to do our job, but also to continue to develop the close relationship our officers have with residents, enabling us to prevent crime and to respond quickly during their time of need.”

According to the Franklin County Auditor’s office, this replacement levy would generate about $75,300 annually. This will cost homeowners with a property valued at $50,000 approximately $12-$15 per year. This is a property tax which is assessed to the homeowner. If you are a renter you are not taxed. Residents who want to know what the levy will cost can log into the Franklin County Auditor’s website

The Mifflin Township Division of Police has been in operation since 1961 and serves the unincorporated portion of Mifflin Township. In November 1981, the voters passed a tax levy, creating a full-time division. The division has six full-time officers and maintains 24-hour police protection. Three part-time officers, who receive the same police academy training that is required of full-time officers, provide additional manpower. The division operates out of a building located behind the fire station on 2459 Agler Road. The department patrols the unincorporated area of the Township—approximately 3.9 square miles with a population of about 3,000.