Elected Officials


The Mifflin Township Board of Trustees has legislative authority within the township, overseeing the care and maintenance of each department. Working closely with the trustees is the fiscal officer who is independent of township trustees and is responsible for keeping accurate records of all accounts, transactions, budgets and proceedings of the township.

Township Trustees

Lynn Stewart, Chair

A resident since 1964, Lynn Stewart is the township’s first female trustee, originally appointed in November 2007 to fill a vacancy for an unexpired term. Stewart is a retired IT specialist, serving in senior sales and management roles for such corporations as IBM and MAPSYS, Inc. She serves as vice chair of the Regional Council of Governments (RCOG), and is an active member of the community having served as a member of Gahanna’s Charter Review Committee, Civil Service Commission and trustee of the Ohio Herb Education Center.

Richard Angelou, Vice Chair

A resident since 1971, Richard Angelou began his work in public service when he was appointed to the Mifflin Township Board of Trustees in 1994. He has been elected to serve each subsequent term since. Angelou is a former history and government teacher, having retired from Whitehall City Schools after 28 years. He was also the city of Gahanna’s first Parks and Recreation Director from 1967 to 1971. Angelou is a graduate of Capital University and The Ohio State University.

Kevin Cavener, Trustee

Kevin Cavener began his career in service after his election to a term which began in January 2018. He is a long-time resident of Gahanna, having lived in the community for 22 years. Cavener is a third-generation firefighter, having retired from the fire service after 37 years, 30 of those with the Columbus Division of Fire. Cavener is a graduate of the Columbus Fire Academy.

Nancy White, Fiscal Officer

Aside from 2018-2021 when serving as Township Administrator, Nancy White has held the position of fiscal officer since March 1984. Throughout her terms, she served in all capacities with the Franklin County Township Association. She was the 2014 president of the Ohio Government Finance Officers Association, the 2003 Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission chair, member of the board of directors of the Ohio Township Association Risk Management Authority (OTARMA), and is currently chair of the Franklin County Planning Commission. She was re-appointed to the unexpired term of fiscal officer in January 2022.

Township Trustees duties

According to Ohio Revised Code, townships have three elected trustees who each serve four-year terms. Trustees have legislative authority in a township. They oversee the care and maintenance of township roads; create police districts; provide fire protection; manage cemeteries; establish and operate parks and recreation departments; regulate zoning; and authorize waste disposal. Other trustee responsibilities, include conducting bi-monthly meetings, approving resolutions relative to township business, providing for the general welfare of the township, and maintaining records of all township activities.

Fiscal Officer duties

The township fiscal officer is an elected official who is independent of township trustees but works closely with the board, particularly as it relates to fiscal matters. The fiscal officer is responsible for keeping accurate records of all accounts, transactions, budgets and proceedings of the township. The Ohio Auditor of State sends staff members every two years to audit the records of fiscal officers, provide checks and balances, and ensure compliance with laws.

To learn more about duties and responsibilities of township’s elected officials, visit the Ohio Township Association’s website


400 W. Johnstown Rd., Suite 200, Gahanna, OH 43230

Phone: (614) 471-4494


Office Hours:
Monday – Friday: 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.